Three Week Stint – And Other Thoughts

Well, I have completed the first of three weeks on the road.

My wife and kids are house/dog sitting for my parents, and there is no reason to go home. I am currently helping out my company with a new account out of Gouldsboro, PA. The freight is easy and light. Mostly appliances and such. The runs are short, but the go into some tough areas for trucking (like Queens, Jersey City, etc).

It is pretty easy work otherwise, drop and hook pick ups and live unloads for the delivery. No touch freight – that’s cool.

On a side note, I recieved a kind of promotion the other week. I was running on a Georgia Pacific account, when I was asked to help on a new thing…a fleet of 50 drivers from across the country to form a “Dedicated Flex Fleet”. I could work any dedicated account for an undetermined amount of time, and then move to another one. It really is kinda hard to explain, but for now, I am running local, and who knows what I will do next month…I could run any account at any time. The nice thing about this is that I have a gauranteed minimum pay every week.

Published in: on July 20, 2008 at 12:40  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sniroadwarrior.wordpress.com/2008/07/20/three-week-stint-and-other-thoughts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

