Hernia’s and Bar-B-Que

Today, after driving across the state of Arkansas with one thing on my mind…getting as close to Cincinnati as I could, I had the unfortunate experience of developing an umbilical hernia…most likely cause is a serious bout of coughing due to seasonal allergies that came early due to spending the last month in the south.

This occurrence, the hernia, caused me to have to drop the load of beer and let another driver finish the run, not a good thing for me, as freight is exceptionally light these days. I then had the enjoyment of spending 4 1/2 hours in a surgical green emergency room in West Memphis Arkansas. Even the waiting room was surgical green and white tile floor. Metal chairs, no tv, magazines or anything.

When I was finally seen, by a nurse practitioner, not a doctor, he was too busy with more important things (like chasing nurses I presume), I was told I had an umbilical hernia (like I thought), and told I could leave. When I asked what would be done about it, I was told that whenever it hurt to lie down and massage it with the palm of my hand. If it would not go back in, to go to the ER. Great!

So then I had to wait almost 2 hours for a ride back to the Operating Center, so I could report the good news to the powers that be. The guy who came to pick me up, was a real bore. But I didn’t care about that. I was hungry and it turned out he was headed to a place called  Ray’s World Famous Bar-B-Que, where Ray Gage has been for the last 10 years. He’s been cooking pork in West Memphis for the last 34 years. That is Ray in the picture to the left.

As we got drove between truck stops on the I-40 service road, we could smell the food. We knew this was going to be awesome.

Well, After a crappy day, I had an awesome dinner. Bar-B-Que Pulled Pork, Bar-B-Que Beef Ribs, Brisket, cole slaw (if you know me I rarely eat it), beans, and some greens I was happy and stuffed. I don’t think he charged me the right amount as he said my bill was $6.00. I had enough food to feed 2 people. I will return to Ray’s!

Published in: on February 14, 2009 at 23:06  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sniroadwarrior.wordpress.com/2009/02/14/hernias-and-bar-b-que/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Derek,

    What a beautifully bittersweet story – BBQs and hernias. An interesting combination of fun on a cold winter’s day in Dixie. I envy you about as much as I would envy you if, say, you had a kidney stone and I did not. Poor man. You are in my thoughts and prayers. Should you need a good ER back home…I can recommend a few.

  2. I plan on seeing my regular doctor on Monday next week. Everything I read on the interweb says the BEST thing is surgical repair before there is a problem. Thanks for your thoughts and prayers.


Leave a Reply

