New Ideas: Where I’ve Been

“I am the vine; you are the branches. Those who remain in Me, and I in them, will produce much fruit.” – John 15:5

me1

Hey everyone;

I have decided that I am going to try something new. New to me at least. I am going to tell you five or six readers a little about me and what I do on a near daily basis.

Have no fear, for the one or two who actually likes the anti-Obama, liberal bashing things I find on the web, I do not plan to stop that. Nor will I stop posting the funny, slanderous, or mildly obscene random thoughts and interweb posts either.

It is just that I have come to realize that I want to do more than just rant against our Dear Leader. I want to let people know what I do on a daily basis what kind of crap a truck driver has to put up with. I want to let you know a little about my hobbies, my interests, my daily life (don’t worry Honey, I won’t get too personal).I want to show you where I have been and what I have seen.

So, here is the first post of a new type, now I just have to remember to post something most days on this new idea.

This post is going to cover a little about geocaching (from last Friday), and then what I learned about truck driving and where I have been so far this week.

dotters-cornerLast Friday I went out to a cemetary called Dotter’s Corner. I went here to find a small pill bottle that contained a slip of paper and a plastic toy snake. Why did I do this, well let me tell you. I am a bit nerdy and I love the outdoors. I went here using satellites and a GPS reciever. Good thing I had both on my side, because you probably will not find this little cemetary any other way.

The hobby of geocaching mixes a love of the outdoors, a little history from time to time, technology (interweb, GPS recievers, and satellites), and even brain power to travel to little known corners of your neighborhood, state, country , even the world).

Sometimes, you can just pull up in your car, step out and find it with in a few feet. Other times you have to hike down trails (or off trail) for a few miles to find them. The most challenging type even requires you to solve a puzzle or riddle to find the hidden container.

It is a real fun sport and if you ever get the chance to try it, I am sure you will be hooked, unless you do not like snakes, thorns, ticks, poison ivy, mosquitoes, rain, hiking, thinking, technology, and the like.

So, anyway, off to what I do to make a living. I am a truck driver  for a company that just about anyone who lives in the US and Canada has seen. I drive one of those big orange trucks. My particular job is with the Dedicated Flex Fleet. This makes me an Over The Road truck driver as well as a dedicated driver. I do not spend more than a month on any one dedicated account at a time, and run over the road loads to get from one market to another.

On Monday, I spent the day learning how to drive an automatic truck. It is not as simple as putting it in drive and taking off. However, it is easier than a manual transmission, as you have probably guessed. I had to learn how to do this, because on Thursday or Friday I am to hitch a ride to Albany, NY to recover a truck that was abandoned at a freightliner dealer over a month ago.

In the meantime I am helping out the Georgia Pacific account running loads of paper towels and toilet paper to places like Costco, grocery stores, and warehouses. It is very easy work. The longest any one run on this account is about 250 miles. And I am ussually able to do two or three a day.

However, today is different. I picked my current load up this morning near Allentown, PA and had to head down to the Washington, DC area for my first stop at 0630 tomorrow morning. I could have waited and picked it up in the middle of the night, but then I would not be able to do as much work tomorrow. So, tonight, I will sleep in the parking lot of my first stop.

So, here is the view from my “corner office” window:

view

Published in: on March 25, 2009 at 15:28  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sniroadwarrior.wordpress.com/2009/03/25/new-ideas-where-ive-been/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I really like this idea! I can find out more of what you did in a day than when we actually talk, because by that time, we are both exhausted and not very chatty. Don’t worry about being too personal. You know what you aren’t allowed to talk about 😉

  2. The only thing is I won’t post it on a daily basis…like today, boring day. deliver 2 stops near Washington DC, then deadhead 7 hours to Charlotte. Rain and gloom all day long.


Leave a Reply

