Mississippi And Back Again

Saw this at a truck stop near Charlotte...It's radioactive!!!

Saw this at a truck stop near Charlotte...It's radioactive!!!

“The heavens proclaim the glory of God. The skies display His craftsmanship.”

Psalms 19:1

Actually, the last few days were quite busy for me. I left Washington DC on Thursday and hightailed it for Charlotte, NC. Took me about 7 hours to make the trip. Was not very exciting.

On Friday morning I had to pack my overnight bag and such essentials. I was to take a regional tractor from the Charlotte, NC OC to Hazlehurst, Mississippi (it is fun to type that one). This tractor is a little smaller than my normal tractor (a condo), and is to be used for a new start up account for my company. I also had to wait for a fellow driver who was to do the same thing. We were going to share a rental car for the return trip.

Spring is in the air in North Carolina

Spring is in the air in North Carolina

Well, Linda, the fellow driver, arrived at about 1200 (noon), and we got our gear squared away and prepared to head out on a rainy dreary afternoon. Our goal was to make Atlanta that afternoon, then head the rest of the way the next morning. Not a particular difficult (about 4 and a half hours), but we were not crazy of driving through heavy rain and thunder bobtail at night in the fog.

So, we headed off through the Friday madness that is Charlotte heading south on I-85 towards Atlanta. Not a very exciting trip all in all, especially with the rain. People in North and South Carolina drive like total idiots…but that is a rant for another day.

The beauty of South Carolina at 60 mph.

The beauty of South Carolina at 60 mph.

We drove through N. Carolina, S. Carolina and into Atlanta were we bedded down (in separate motel rooms) for the night. I was placed in a corner room in the back of the motel (HoJo’s, man I hate HoJo’s) and had to listen to the interstate traffic all night. It was not fun, but I suffered through it, hoping that in the morning when I complained, I would score a free room. Alas, it did not work.

In the morning we went to Waffle House for breakfast (MMMmmm Waffle House)! (Say it like homer says Mmmmm Donuts). I has coffee and sausage biscuits.

A yummy place to eat 24 hours a day!

A yummy place to eat 24 hours a day!

After breakfast we began the 7 hour drive across Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi. After arriving at Hazlehurst, we left one of the tractors and drove over to the Jackson, MS airport to pick up the rental car. It is amazing how many people stare at a big truck at an airport. I met Linda and another driver back at Hazlehurst, and we began the journey back to Atlanta. We talked and laughed and wondered if we were gonna get caught in the storms looming ahead.

A bad president has a boulavard named after him in Atlanta.

A bad president has a boulavard named after him in Atlanta.

We spent the night again in Atlanta at the same HoJo’s. Had breakfast at the same Waffle House (MMMmmmm Waffle House)! I enjoyed sausage and cheese omelet, toast and the best hash browns ever made. The eggs in the omelet were so fluffy, you could have used them for a pillow. Great coffee there also.

After breakfast, we hopped into the rental and I drove on up to Charlotte. We returned the rental car and now I am on the blog.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sniroadwarrior.wordpress.com/2009/03/29/mississippi-and-back-again/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

