480 Miles All In 1 State

Hey all, another long day completed. Today I covered 480 miles in the state of New York. I never even left the state. Pretty cool.

My day started out in Malden-On-Hudson, NY at a service plaza on the NY Thruway about 85 miles from my delivery point. I was delivering a load of toilet paper to the Wally World Distribution Center in Johnstown, NY. Pretty cool town, Johnstown. There is a shrine to Blessed Kateri Tekakwitha.

The oldest known portrait of Kateri Tekakwitha, painted after her death by Father Chauchetiere.

The oldest known portrait of Kateri Tekakwitha, painted after her death by Father Chauchetiere.

She is called “The Lily of the Mohawks,” the “Mohawk Maiden,” the “Pure and Tender Lily,” and the “Fairest Flower among True Men.” I count myself lucky to have been able to drive past the shrine, but alas, I was unable to stop and check the place out, as there was no room for me to park my big rig. Someday, I would like to stop and pay her a visit.

After dropping the load of toilet paper a Wally World. I hooked up to an empty trailer and took off south on the NY Thruway for Montgomery, NY. When I got to my shipper, it was pouring heavily and I had to try and manuever the trailer into a tight dock to get a load of 540 PECO (brand) pallets going to the Georgia Pacific plant in Plattsburgh, NY. The real trick here was not the lack of room, but more the 2 inches of slippery mud, that caused the trailer to slide left and right and not go where I wanted it. After a few attempts, I managed to get it into the dock.

From Montgomery, I took off north on the NY Thruway to Plattsburgh, after scaling the rig. My total rig weight was 66,160 lbs. Not maxed out, but heavy enough to make the Adirondacks a slight challenge. I pulled into the GP plant at 6:30 pm, only to realize that I was 17 hours ahead of my schedule for the week. My load back to Pennsylvania is scheduled to be ready at noon tomorrow. I hope it is ready earlier.

So, that was my day in a nutshell. We will see what happens tomorrow.

Published in: on September 17, 2009 at 19:46  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://sniroadwarrior.wordpress.com/2009/09/17/480-miles-all-in-1-state/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

